Post Thanks / Like

Turbo options - help!

Recently found a turbo of the following spec and seems suitable for a C1J, could any of you guys tell me whether or not this would work:

Large alloy compressor housing with 2in inlet flange and 2in outlet flange
    56mm compressor wheel capable of up to 30lb/min
    Oil cooled journal bearing core.
    0.52 A/R quick spool turbine housing with T2 inlet flange and 3bolt outlet flange.
    54mm GT25 high flow turbine wheel

One of the Garrett GT25 series, your thoughts would be appreciated. Seems a quicker/ cheaper way of achieving g boost and power than trying to re-engineer a T2?

Committee, Treasurer, Memberships admin Ian S's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Turbo options - help!

Sound completely incompatible.

I'm no expert but:

30lb/min?? What does that mean? Flow measured in litres / sec at a given PSI, I've heard of.

Oil cooled core!! Who wrote that! Oil lubricates, water cools. Water cooled core is what you what.

The 5GTT has possibly the hottest turbo in any engine bay. The 5GTT original non water cooled would burn the oil and jam the bearing and shaft. That happened to a water cooled T2 I had. Renault switched to water cooled, I presume, for longer term reliability.

50mm inlet? Aren't the T2, etc about 75mm inlet, ie, hose inner diameter?

0.52 turbine housing might be quite large and far from quick spool on a low compression 1.4 litre. The T2 is a 0.35. Normal T25 for the 5GTT seemed to be 0.49. And isn't the compressor is a big factor in how fast it make boost pressure?

As said already, the 'Tomcat' spec seemed to be a good one. I no longer know what that was though! Many, possibly all, the people who eventually worked their way up to a bigger turbo, would not go back to a smaller one, would put up with some lag in order to have the extra get up and go, especially at higher speeds / gas flows.

The VNT seemed to be able to give low lag and high gas flow.