Non-member
    Post Thanks / Like

Restoration to the road.

Hi all,

Im fairly new to the R5 scene and am rediscovering my youth! Lol. I recently acquired a black ph2 that was known to my friends and is registered locally.

This is my documented rebuild of this car.

The story goes that she was a demonstrator for a local dealership at the first part of her life and was obviously sold to her first keeper. What I know is that she was kept well and in standard shape for many years, moving between careful owners, raking up the miles. At some point she was lowered, cloverleaf wheels added, upgraded turbo (unknown), adjustable boost and noisey exhaust fitted.

At some point in about 2004 this car was involved in a front end bump to the L/H front headlamp area and this was a beginning of the current end of her road going career. From what I have been told, she was then presented to a body shop for the works to be carried out. This resulted in a new bonnet, LH front lamp panel, impact beam and LH inner wing and flitch sections fitted. She was also fitted with two new quarter panels, both inner and outer sills and a new tailgate, and was stripped out to carry out the works. For one reason or another, the car wasn't actually painted and re assembled.

In this state she was passed between several owners and eventually went on off to Oxford. This is where my part of the story begins, she was offered for sale and I put an offer forward and was accepted. I collected the car with the loan of a trailer and a friends car.

It was necessary to keep the oldies under cover for the journey as she was full of goodies to be refitted upon assembly, so I employed the use of a good car cover for the trip.

And here she is again at last, tucked up in bed for her first night in Devon for a long time.

I shall update as progress happens.
    Likes Leigh5T, tubbyG liked this post

East Midlands Area Rep Mr Raider's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Restoration to the road.