East Midlands Regional Rep Os8472's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Improving the torsion bar

Ok guys I'm on a quest for handling improvements, front ends are easy but torsion bars are a pain but I've had one idea, someone has probably done it already which is great because you can tell what to do.

Say I turret the rear arches so I can fit full length upright dampers and springs and then removed the torsion bars leaving the rear beam suspension sorted by the springs and dampers would that work? or am I missing anything?

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Improving the torsion bar

When people turret the rear end, they normally keep the std torsion bars and use a light assister spring to 'add' to the spring rate. The advantage of this is keeping the unsprung weight to a minimum (light springs, light weight).

You can of course, ditch the torsion bars altogether and go even softer at the rear if you wanted but there little advantage to be had if at all, but I'm no expert.

The most expensive route is to go for uprated torsion bars for someone like www.renaultpower.com in Germany

http://www.renaultpower.com/?rS=parts&cid=109

I even looked at having custom torsion bars made but it was going to cost A$700 (GBP450) which is way more than I want to spend!

Post Thanks / Like

I seriously think about chopping the toaster about too much oli, after all it's easily reverted to standard as it stands.

If you're serious about rear turrets get a campus to chop about and play with. I could even tell you where there is a pair of front turrets

Post Thanks / Like

Whoops sorry folks, forgot to say this for the 9 not the 5, strictly speaking the rear arches are already turreted, the main reason I'm thinking about this the back is saggy as fook and I'm sure it's the torsion bars that's the problem and trying to find replacements is going to be next to impossible

Post Thanks / Like