Post Thanks / Like

b18ft guide for the novice

Right guys i thought i would start off a thread for this as i realy am going to be needing some help .

I picked up the car today its a full car 440 turbo, i have been told it has bigger T5 injectors, richmod ecu and a bit more boost.

I had planned to change injectors, n/a cam, air filter, exhaust and a little bit of head work. Maybee a bigger blower later on.

I have never built an engine before so its going to be a learning curve. I have a friend of mine who is a mechanic and is going to be helping me right through this, Thank god.

Having said I'm hoping you guys are going to give me some help, so others can benefit from reading this.

We are pulling the engine out next week, so what do i need and what can i bin. Can i use the radiator, intercooler, starter etc?

I have downloaded the ecu wiring diagram courtesy of scoff, is there any easy way to tell what i need and what i don't?

I will have a look at the injectors to see if they have been upgraded. I also need to check the cam see if thats standard and the turbo to, Do they have any markings on i can look out for?

I have had a quick look for the ecus, there is one in the engine bay but can not see the other. I have been given the standard ecu with the car but have been told that the other has has the rich mod. I presume that is the same thing that scoff does to delock the ecu for more boost.

I have downloaded the b18ft guide that should be a big help.

Thanks phil

Post Thanks / Like

Re: b18ft guide for the novice

ive only ever pulled engines from a 480 so they may not bolt up the same but the rear gearbox mount is a pain, drop the rear of the subframe to make it easyer.

keep as much of the down pipe as posible
    keep all water pipes and boost pipes
    if it has an engine damper keep that to
    ive never kept the rad or i/c but it the may be able to b used.