Post Thanks / Like

Any boat owners (help)

Well i thought this may be worth a try as ive been searching for hours & im not finding any info on google.
    my friend has just baught this boat as a little toy. http://malta.boatshed.com/tullio_abb...oat-62444.html
    And we want to take it from exeter where its moored to amsterdam but we both know nothing about boats hes had some small speed boats & jetskies in the passed but nothing like this.
    well the boat has two 7.4 litre v8's at 300bhp per engine given 600bhp and does a top speed around 45 knots it is 36 foot long and is an offshore cruiser.
    basically first off i want to know if im going to make it there alive
    what sort of time the journey will take?
    and is there anything we need to know before setting off as we are complete noobs to this, & i dont want to die.
    im finding it very hard to find info online so any help would be great.
    cheers.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Any boat owners (help)

LOL

no dieing would be bad

thats one hell of a trip!!!! going through the English Channel, its a bit like the M25 but where you won't have the right of way atall!!!!

your best, if you want to get there, finding your local RYA training place and seeing if they have a basics radio course (thats if the boat has one and I'd make sure it bloody does) and also do a navagation course! as once you're out at sea, everything looks the same......... BLUE/green/poo/sick

there's nothing like being out at sea but Id make sure you have a good GPS, NOT satnav and lots of safety gear. oh and really really good insurance

honestly................................just take the car and get the ferry! its gonna be cheaper and quicker as the chances of you doing 45knts the whole way isn't gonna happen without you breaking something, esp in the seas up the east coast!

Post Thanks / Like