PDA

View Full Version : Running rough when warm

lilmark
22-04-2009, 23:33
New poster! (less than 10 posts)

Hi

Im not sure if this has been asked before but when my 5 gets warm it starts running rough sometimes cuts out, i have been told its got bigger jets in the carb but not to sure if it has.

With the running problem is it a case of putting it on a CO machine an playing with the mixture screw to sort.

Im new to owning a 5 so please take it easy on me

Thanks
Mark

IANMM
23-04-2009, 08:44
The way i see it is all cars run a bit crapper the hotter they get (have you seen how more responsive your car is on a cold day?) and boy does the 5 like to get hot as long as your temp is shooting through the ceiling and your fan is kicking in etc and your not going through coolant like no tomorrow i dont think there is anything to worry about.....maybe flush your system out make sure your coolant system is running ok (no air in it etc) and as for it cutting out if its happening on idel mabe adjust that so it ticks over better, dont think you need bigger jets mate

ian

Tiny Tim
23-04-2009, 08:49
I'd deffinately get the fuelling checked out if you're not familiar with these cars, you dont want to find out you over/underfuelling massively for the boost you're running - that'll end in tears.

Once thats sorted, give the coolant system a good clean out, bleed properly and see how it goes. The weather isnt even hot yet, if you're having issues already then you dont want it to all go wrong stuck in a traffic jam come summer.

lilmark
23-04-2009, 19:17
Tiny tim - its over fueling alot its bloody stinks when u turn the car off after being out in it

IANM - I have blead the cooling system today in work an its ok an the fan kicks in between the 1/2 an 3/4 lines

It also runs rough when warm when the car is sat still on idle i will have a play with the fueling tonight

Thanks

IANMM
24-04-2009, 08:54