PDA

View Full Version : what mig welder to get???

blue mackay
18-04-2009, 10:50
can anyone tell me whats the best mig welder to go for and easiest to use?
just for general repair work on the 5 eg sills,plates the usual!!

ive looked at gas,and gasless not sure which and not sure what make to go for??
theres a few in the adds for sale so before i dive in would like to get some info on them
if anyone could please help??? :confused:

TURBO'D CLIO
18-04-2009, 13:50
Hi there

I'm a welder by trade so i know exact what you need...

Don't by gas less migs there total crap, and also don't buy a low ampage one as they get to hot and trip out all the time even on tiny small patch.

You really want around 120 - 150 amp welder (mig welder with gas) these are perfect for welding cars, you can turn the welder to about 4 on the voltage and it wont blow holes or trip out, nice clean strong welds aswell..

But really don't by a low ampage one as they just can't cope and wen they trip out with over heating you got a 20 min wait b4 u can use it again, total rubbish...

Hopes this helps...

blue mackay
18-04-2009, 20:01
Hi there

I'm a welder by trade so i know exact what you need...

Don't by gas less migs there total crap, and also don't buy a low ampage one as they get to hot and trip out all the time even on tiny small patch.

You really want around 120 - 150 amp welder (mig welder with gas) these are perfect for welding cars, you can turn the welder to about 4 on the voltage and it wont blow holes or trip out, nice clean strong welds aswell..

But really don't by a low ampage one as they just can't cope and wen they trip out with over heating you got a 20 min wait b4 u can use it again, total rubbish...

Hopes this helps...

just pmd you thankyou very much fella!!
im off to get myself a mig yeeha!!!
:laugh:

gtmatt
18-04-2009, 20:50
i have a murex trade unit , great unit:)

blue mackay
18-04-2009, 21:07
i have a murex trade unit , great unit:)
what kind of price did you pay ???