PDA

View Full Version : Fuel Tank Leaking

Judder
13-04-2009, 21:14
New poster! (less than 10 posts)

Chaps/Ladies,

I had a replacement 2nd hand main fuel tank fitted 2 years ago by a renault garage as the old one was leaking by the yellow bung (I tried sealant but no joy) ( A common problem now the 5's are getting on a bit) and all has been well.

My 5 had its MOT the other day and passed. A few weeks later I have noticed that dreaded small pool of fuel on the driveway under the same area (rear driver side wheel arch). The tank is half full although just by chance on MOT day it was running on the reserve tank)

I am not a mechanic but before I potentially buy a brand new fuel tank (any ideas on cost? I reckon £350 just for the part??) could the problem be anything else? e.g. a blocked fuel breather pipe and if so how could I tell? or fix it?

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated as always.....

Thanks

RICHIE
13-04-2009, 21:16
http://www.rtoc.org/boards/showthread.php?t=4766

RICHIE
13-04-2009, 21:18
http://www.rtoc.org/boards/member.php?u=97 off the top of my head this member is in bristol maybe he can help or know of someone who can:agree:

Judder
13-04-2009, 21:24

Richie,

Thks for the quick reply. I remember reading that article a couple of years back when I first had the leak. Very useful.

Could I make the assumption that as it only leaks when it is more than a 1/4 full then it must be the yellow bung that is leaking? or have other members had fuel leaks from elsewhere?

Blick
13-04-2009, 21:33

Richie,

Thks for the quick reply. I remember reading that article a couple of years back when I first had the leak. Very useful.

Could I make the assumption that as it only leaks when it is more than a 1/4 full then it must be the yellow bung that is leaking? or have other members had fuel leaks from elsewhere?