PDA

View Full Version : First Run ...Missfiring..

Bass J
14-03-2009, 13:32
Ok my first technical help post here lol ..might aswell get use of my £25 :laugh:

Ok its a clio with a 5gtt engine in it.

I finally got it running yesterday...turns out its missfiring. It has been sitting for a fair few months. I have put new plugs,leads and distributor cap and rotar arm on it. Cleaned the idle jet just to get it running (all through advice of rob@backyardracing on msn Cheers man :agree:)

Are the 5gtt engines really this noisey on idle? Also its missfiring and ive no idea why as ive replaced most of the ignition system with new parts.

Vid Here - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZwYjUw3jxiQ

Im running a clio 1.2 fuel pump through the 5gtt fuel pressure regulator .. im new to carb'd engines so any advice would be great!

I aslo aint worried about how loud the exhaust is as ive yet to seal the connections :cool:

Cheers

Scoff
14-03-2009, 13:49
That sounds like it's only just catching the igniton, have you moved the distributor shaft ?

You want to get the engine at TDC (line the flywheel mark up with bellhousing 0°) and take off the dizzy cap - the arm should be pointing at either No.1 plug lead or No.4 plug lead. If its off by more than say 20deg then it might want correcting.

Could also be that it's running lean because its sucking air in somewhere below the carb. Check that your brake servo pipe is connected and not leaking. check that the breather system pipe is connected and has the restrictor in the pipe from the back of the manifold.

Scoff
14-03-2009, 13:51
also make sure that the thin pipe to the igniton module does not have any leaks along the way and that it is connected to the manifold, not carb top or whatever.

Bass J
14-03-2009, 14:00
Thanks for the quick reply scoff..

Im not soo clue'd up with engines lol ...my first engine conversion.