PDA

View Full Version : GT problems?

Aterro
08-07-2014, 10:48
New poster! (less than 10 posts)

Hi,

ive not even bought my GT yet, and I've spoken to the owner after winning it via ebay and he's listed some little issues ( not stated in listed but heyho)

He stated

" it can be erratic sometimes"
He's got the fuel pump on a switch..
Fan on a switch...

The above doesn't bother me to be honest.
But it maybe it could affect why its running abit lumpy.
He stated " it runs lumpy sometimes" and he thinks its a timing issue....
I presume the timing on a GT is electronic???
How can you adjust the timing?

He does also state it needs a " tune" so i presume so this also could be the problem...

For me to do a tune, id run a wideband sensor such as LC-1(innovate) and then check afr ratio and adjust carb to suit correct figures... is that the best way for a home mechanic?

Ive never had a "carb injection " car before so I'm totally new to this, and my knowledge is limited :laugh:

He also stated, when warm it can be hard to start, it doesn't have the Perc fan, so i presume this is just a general 5 issue and the above issues aren't helping it....

Just general advice on making sure the engine is ok is good too really? is there anything i can check when next to the car ( prior to purchase) to diagnosis the possible issues???

Thanks everyone!!:agree:

rabbitstew
08-07-2014, 11:03

Hi,

ive not even bought my GT yet, and I've spoken to the owner after winning it via ebay and he's listed some little issues ( not stated in listed but heyho)

He stated

" it can be erratic sometimes"
He's got the fuel pump on a switch..
Fan on a switch...

The above doesn't bother me to be honest.
But it maybe it could affect why its running abit lumpy.
He stated " it runs lumpy sometimes" and he thinks its a timing issue....
I presume the timing on a GT is electronic???
How can you adjust the timing?

He does also state it needs a " tune" so i presume so this also could be the problem...