PDA

View Full Version : HELP!!!

Fused7
11-06-2014, 21:28
Can any 1 help? I went out in the 5 earlier and all was good came home for a bit then went to go back out and it was like a smoke machine coming out of the exhaust! I checked water and oil seems ok! I took it down the road and it was boosting & running fine, only seems to smoke wen its idiling any ideas? A mate of mine said it could b the turbo?? Thanks in advance

Markey Mark (BD)
11-06-2014, 22:36
Check for play in the turbo's shaft, does sound like turbo has died though

Fused7
12-06-2014, 06:05
Wen u say play, do u mean wiggle the shaft side to side or pull it front to back?? Sorry I'm a bit of a novice!:confused: does it not sound like n e fing else to u like head gasket or piston rings etc? Thanks mate

Rob1980
12-06-2014, 07:21
What colour is the smoke?

Fused7
12-06-2014, 07:36
It's white, wen it's sitting there just idiling it's like a smoke machine but wen I drive it there's hardly any smoke. Any idears?:scratch:

Rob1980
12-06-2014, 07:39
Generally blue smoke means a knackered turbo while white smoke is head gasket related. Have you checked under the oil filler cap for a mayo like substance?

The smoke could just appear to be less while driving because it is getting dispersed/left behind...

Markey Mark (BD)
12-06-2014, 08:15
Yes check the shaft in the turbo for play in/out and up/down, its ok mate we all started as novices one time :D

If your engine was running lumpy then i would say headgasket but as its running ok and it only smokes on idle i would still say looks potentionally like turbo
Colour of smoke doesn't always give best idea what it is, can't count the amount of cars with blown turbos i've seen that smoke thinkwhite/grey ;)

Alex
12-06-2014, 09:25
Turbo.

Fused7
12-06-2014, 09:42