PDA

View Full Version : Stereo wires... Opinions please

Rob1980
15-09-2013, 16:23
Hello all

I have had a hunt around and I have found these wires, (see attached pics)

I assume that the 5 bunched together are speaker wires and an earth? I have not had the door cards off yet at the front as I have not had time yet. I can not see any wires for rear speakers at all. As you can see, there is not a lot of wire to work with. Is it deemed Micky mouse to joint new wire to it by the classic twisting and tape method?

The wire with the Ariel lead I assume is the live?

I am ok with running new wire throughout and connecting old school method but I'm thinking that it would be better to use iso blocks (or whatever they are called!) or something else modern? I have never done this before so if any one has any info or even better could help me I would be very grateful. I'm not even sure if new CD players etc can be connected without these iso things as I have not had to do one since 1999! All my cars since then have had decent built in systems...

Rob1980
15-09-2013, 16:25
Doh! One pic got missed!

Guybrush
15-09-2013, 17:24
I assume that the 5 bunched together are speaker wires and an earth?

I tend not to assume with wires. If you don't have a multimeter, buy one and test the wires to see which ones carry 12v when ignition on/off. Once you've got the ground and the power & ignition, the speaker wires are just trial and error... the negative one's should be marked with a white line.

Is it deemed Micky mouse to joint new wire to it by the classic twisting and tape method?

At the very least, crimp the wires. Crimping kits are cheap.

but I'm thinking that it would be better to use iso blocks

Yeah, it is. you can get them from halfrauds/ebay and just wire the mess you have in the car into the iso block. then whenever you change stereo it's plug & play.
http://washford.scene7.com/is/image/Washford/956672?$PDP_MAIN$