PDA

View Full Version : Coolant loss

greggtt
31-03-2013, 22:25
Just a quick question for you all , I have been loosing some coolant on and off , sounds weird I know but some times ill take the car to work , around 70 mile round trip and all will be well but now and again get a little puddle under the engine below the water pump side of the engine , I'm a mechanic and have carried out the usual checks and nothing , pressure testing system etc but no clear leaks, only thing I've noticed is looking from above water pump side at the back of the head right where the last bolt on the manifold is there is a threaded hole on the head just behind the rocker cover (facing up) it seems to be full of coolant , any of you helpfull chaps know if it is likely to be close to a water gallery and could be the problem?? I have blocked it with a bolt and sealer and will run the car tomorrow and see what happens but just thought I would ask if anybody knows of this issue or have any ideas what it might be, not loosing lots of coolant but as you know these problems just get worse with time and due to the nature of the problem it might be a cracked head and I might have to bite the bullet and start stripping the old girl down:(

Steevo
31-03-2013, 22:54
I had a similar problem where I was intermittently losing coolant and it was down to a small crack in the swirl pot, do you still have the standard plastic one on there?

michael tierney
31-03-2013, 23:08
similar prob....lower rad hose connection...hard to see,only when hot,look through wheel arch

greggtt
31-03-2013, 23:25
I had a similar problem where I was intermittently losing coolant and it was down to a small crack in the swirl pot, do you still have the standard plastic one on there?

Yeah original still there , will check that cheers

Tony Walker
31-03-2013, 23:25
what colour rad cap you have? the wrong one can release pressure now and again.
header tank cap :D

greggtt
31-03-2013, 23:26