PDA

View Full Version : Turbo porblems, turbo company are telling me you should not adjust actuator?

gttjames
22-12-2012, 10:24
Hi guys, im after abit of advice please. As some of you may be aware, my turbo let go not to long ago, it only covered around 2.5k at 12/13psi - when i originally got the turbo i told them i want to run 20/22psi max, more than likely jsut 20psi and low lag, so they provided me with a t25.47 - i run it at 12/13psi for, then when i get my afr gauge all set up etc i started playing with the carb, i thought it was the norm to adjust the actuator for more boost? Seen it done everywhere, people on here told me to etc read guides on adjusting actuator for more boost. Anyway wound it out a few more turns, and using the vacum/pressure tester tool at work plugged it up and pumped up to 14psi at which point the actuator opened, i then wound it a few more turns and noticed it still only opened at 14psi, so i wound it back a couple of turns to where it opened at 14psi but was closer to standard positon if that makes sense. So there was a few threads left ona ctuator arm. I run it like this for 100/150miles - and came on here, or spoke to marky mark (i think) and he said to just use a bleed valve, so i did, used a bleed valve, half adjustments at a time until i was upto 18psi on my in car gauge - Loved it, but it only lasted about 20miles, before it started smoking. So took it off noticed the side to side movement so the turbo company told me to send it back.

After a week they rung up and 1st conversation went like this

'Hi james yer your turbo isnt looking good, have you adjusted boost to other than standard'.

Yes i said, i bought it off you originally and told you i wanted to run 20psi and this is the turbo unit you recomended'.

'oh really? well it looks like the actuator might have caused the problem as youv adjusted it'.

i said yes i have adjusted it upto 14psi via actuator.

'oh well the actuator isnt strong enough for 20psi'