PDA

View Full Version : Difficult or not!!

fossie
17-12-2012, 20:58
New poster! (less than 10 posts)

Looking at getting my second R5 after selling my old one around 6/7 years ago. I'm just wondering how easy are these to work on engine/ mechanical wise. I'm no mechanic by a long shot however would like to do some stuff myself as and when the work needs doing.

Thanks in advance
Lee

djinuk
17-12-2012, 21:02
Easy peasy imo .. dont listen to the horror stories.. engine wise it dosent get any easier than a renault 5.

Woznaldo
17-12-2012, 21:06
That has to be one of the best features of a GTT, easy to work on and tune. Lots of help and guidance right here in the club.;)

fossie
17-12-2012, 21:08

Excellent. My mates just been taking the mick saying that ill be throwing money away. But tbh on my old R5 all I had to do was change the clutch cable. Am I right in thinking it has a cam chain rather than belt!

TopCat
17-12-2012, 21:12
Just speak to your local rtoc rep fella-
Everyone on here I've met have been really nice and helpful.

Maybe ask your local rep to help u view potential cars with u. Most 5's now have rtoc history now anyway.

Good luck with the search :)

fossie
17-12-2012, 21:12

I remember having a nightmare sometimes when starting the car and using the choke lol. Any easier ways around this rather than the car stalling every time I stop lol

tubbyG
17-12-2012, 21:38
Any easier ways around this rather than the car stalling every time I stop lol

let it fully up completley, before setting off :agree:

I (mostly) always give it 10-15mins idling so its off the choke before heading out in mine if its been sat a while. The stalling/hesitating/kangarooing at junctions and roundabouts while getting stared at by people who think I cant drive is a bit embarassing and not my idea of fun:laugh: