PDA

View Full Version : Fuel leak from bottom of carb

Andyturbo!
05-08-2012, 15:48
http://i1225.photobucket.com/albums/ee387/Andy5turbo/389ebdbb.jpg

Ive just noticed when under the bonnet revving the car fuel leaks from this bit of the carb at the base. I'm a novice with carbs but best way I can describe it is a small spring pulls a bracket open on the bottom of the carb when engine is revved and fuel seeps out. Can anyone shed any light? Sorry for the crap description

Markey Mark (BD)
05-08-2012, 16:07
Sounds like the diaphram has split behind it so will need replacing

BluntyR5GTT
05-08-2012, 16:10
Sounds like the diaphram has split behind it so will need replacing

+1 get yourself a rebuild kit matey, whilst your at it may as well do the lot and give all the jets etc a good blow through

Andyturbo!
05-08-2012, 16:15
Cheers lads is a hard job? I've haven't removed the carb before is there any guides on how to do it?

Kris M
05-08-2012, 16:20
http://www.rtoc.org/boards/showthread.php?t=27381

As if by magic :D

Andyturbo!
05-08-2012, 16:26
http://www.rtoc.org/boards/showthread.php?t=27381

As if by magic :D

Haha cheers mate I've just bin looking thro that, looks abit complicated tho lol

Nottswoody
05-08-2012, 16:41
It's very simple really matey I thought it was hard untill I did it myself.. Get a can of carb cleaner clear a very clean space and just take things off in order clean and replace one at a time.. But I MUST STRESS!! Make sure you count all the washers you take off and stuff a bit of cloth in the hole while the carb is off so nothing can get in your engine.. Just take you time..:)

Andyturbo!
05-08-2012, 19:08