PDA

View Full Version : One for the gym bunnies

clee
13-02-2012, 19:34
;)

Me-Dawny has started going to the gym .She usually jogs round the parks but with the bad weather and such slip injuries put her out of action for ages .
Anyway ,they do an induction course etc and last Thursday had her lifting 5kg hand weights ...flat on the back on a bench ,out to the side up to the middle 15reps + push-ups straight after then etc etc
I reckon that is way too much for a total novice of a certain age :coffee: She has been in some real pain for the last few days and good for nothing ...Is it too much too soon ?
She did them but it's now put her off .

djinuk
13-02-2012, 19:44
i personally feel thats a lot for a woman on a starting out, id imagine no weights or 2kg would be more suitable, saying that on my first few days i didnt really have much pain, however it was that same exccersize that i felt the most, i think its because its a muscle that is very rarely uused.. but i myself am novice..

clee
13-02-2012, 19:48
I thought the same . 2 or 3 max ? She has been in real pain since Sat :crap:

mike r5 gtt
13-02-2012, 20:06
id say that was a fair amount for a lady if she is new to weights, id drop the weight a little, prob 2/3kg and if she finds it too easy just up the reps before uping the weight

there will prob be pain the first few times but it shouldnt really last more than 2 days, if there is still pain after that i prob drop the weight a little again.

its alot easier to start light and get bigger

Rinzler
13-02-2012, 20:20
sounds like a body pump class, 5kg too much when at full extension - esp for a starter.. 2 kgs.

no pain no gain :mad:

clee
13-02-2012, 20:32
Thanks guys .
She knew it was too much but you do tend to rely on instruction with these things especially in that environment .TBH she is quite happy to just do the CV stuff, the other training is included and worth having but only if it is done correctly .

D4WNO
13-02-2012, 20:56