PDA

View Full Version : Clio 172 heater fault - any Renault techs come across this

Markey Mark (BD)
08-11-2011, 19:51
Recently i've had a problem with my climate control/heater controls in my Clio 172 and wonder if anyone can shed some light

Yesterday went out in car i had to clear windows so pressed windscreen button which activates the air con, i accidently touched the recirc button when switching it off and now my fans will not adjust speed at all and when i switch the whole lot off the fans go full power! :confused: God knows what i did or what happened but since hitting that button i not been able to either adjust fan speed or turn it all off (only time turns off is with ignition off)

I'm not very good with new car electrics, anyone come across this especially people in the trade? If its a simple fix be good to know as i would rather fix this myself then send it to a garage

Scoff
08-11-2011, 20:13
fan resistor packs fail commonly I heard, but that might be a bit tricky to test without plugging a known worker in. Robbie has a 172 he's breaking, he might let you pinch the pack for test purposes ?

Markey Mark (BD)
08-11-2011, 20:23
fan resistor packs fail commonly I heard, but that might be a bit tricky to test without plugging a known worker in. Robbie has a 172 he's breaking, he might let you pinch the pack for test purposes ?

Ah cool mate, i'll have alook in that area.

Will give Robbie a pm see if he's still got it, hoping the phase 1 and 2 cars don't use different parts in that area.

Gttnutter
09-11-2011, 08:28
In the scuttle area is the fan resister mark. I had this go on the white 172..infact it never worked when i bought it :wasntme:

Io think they differ for aircon / non aircon models.

I picked mine up from the breakers, but they are around 30 odd on egay :agree:

Markey Mark (BD)
09-11-2011, 16:33
In the scuttle area is the fan resister mark. I had this go on the white 172..infact it never worked when i bought it :wasntme: