PDA

View Full Version : Torsionbeam replacement

tiff_lee
13-11-2008, 23:27
Hi as some of you may or may not be aware i'm new to the R5gtt scene so I am still finding my way around the car and getting to grips with it all.

After having my R5 up on the ramp and having a look at the torsionbeam setup with the gas dampers it reminded me of my old mini turbo with the subframe and gas dampers.

Now while the two setups are not identical I recall on the mini it was possible to replace the rear subframe for some kind of box section across the width of the car (can't remember the exact details) and mount independant radius arms with coilovers instead of just gas dampers.

I was wondering is it possible to carry out any mod like this on the R5 removing the need for a torsionbeam and given independent rear suspension?

Guybrush
13-11-2008, 23:41
its been done, but mainly on the cars with 2 engines, or a rear engine conversion.
it doesn't look especially easy to me, and probably not worth the hastle.... but i'll let them enlighten you.

Nick k
14-11-2008, 00:25
its been done, but mainly on the cars with 2 engines, or a rear engine conversion.
it doesn't look especially easy to me, and probably not worth the hastle.... but i'll let them enlighten you.

That black 5 looks like my first one i brought :) Is it a G plate ending DOV

rs250nut
14-11-2008, 00:30
Anyone thought about using the rear end set up from a 19 touring car, although maybe hard to locate one

Woznaldo
14-11-2008, 06:54
Should be easy enough to do. Obviously you'd have to fabricate some towers to mount some coilovers. I'd look into cutting the beam away from the trailing arms, removing the torsion bars but, leaving the roll bar in place?

All depends on what fabrication your prepared to do/pay for.:)

tiff_lee
14-11-2008, 11:27
I work on a military trainbase with workshops and all the facilities I would need just not too sure how to go about it or whether it has already been done before.