PDA

View Full Version : Stuck torsion bars

Shane P
12-04-2011, 21:48
This is my first time doing it and I just cant get them out ! I dont have a slide hammer, i am not sure where to get one from.

I have been following this guide : http://www.rtoc.org/boards/showthread.php?t=4516 and i bought the bits in the picture in stainless steel and followed the instructions. They just wont shift, either of them and i have ended up snapping both M10 bolts !

I have to get them out somehow and raise the car as it has been set very wrong by the previous owner :(

Both ends have been saturated in WD40 outside and inside and on the link block.

Is it possible that the bars have been forced in on the wrong splines ?

Is it common for them to be this stuck to the point that it snaps stainless fixings?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated :)

Ashy
12-04-2011, 21:53
trouble is stainless fixings aren't the best choice, you really should be using high tensile bolts if they are stuck fast... Sometimes they just wont budge. I once had to remove the rear beam and get some heat and a lump hammer on it to get them to budge!

Shane P
12-04-2011, 22:01
Thankyou for the reply, i hope it doesnt come to the point where i have to do that :(

I best try and get hold of some high tensile M10 bolts and nuts then.

I suppose that i would have no chance with a slide hammer if i cant shift them this way?

Is this something i could pay a garage to do or would they turn me away?

scott 5gtt
12-04-2011, 22:07
I had the same problem mate so i made my own slide hammer out of some steel tube with a larger tube over the top and a stopper at the end with a vr6 bottom end bolt welded to it as that was the highest rmtenstile bolt i had lying around. Torsion bars came out 2nd clout mind the slide hammer was massive haha

James5
12-04-2011, 22:12