PDA

View Full Version : carb grief

KeefaGT
25-08-2010, 22:14
Hi can anyone tell me if i should be running a completely standard carb to fuel a stage 1 hybrid that should be below 150bhp at -13psi

At the moment i have some grp a contraption that runs real rough and has afr's of 16+ on idle even with the screw wound right out. After weeks of trying to set it up i have now decided to bin it and get hold of a standard carb and change jets if necessary.

Any help with what size jets i should start with would be appreciated:D

Alex
26-08-2010, 07:38
You'll probably be fine with a totally standard carb for that boost pressure - I am. Just keep an eye on the AFR. :)

djinuk
26-08-2010, 07:47
id still be checking first personally, i was fueling for 14psi , with a standard carb other than a 1.2 2nd stage and it was still running slightly lean at wot.

Saying the above im pretty new to it all, but heres my thread if you want a looksies.

http://www.rtoc.org/boards/showthread.php?t=17611

KeefaGT
26-08-2010, 11:56
Thanks...Has anyone ever tried to put a group a carb back to standard? Is it possible to change the venturi and jets back or should i just buy a standard carb, also i noticed my afr's jump around when on idle somewhere between about 14.8 and 16.5 (lowest i can get it) is this normal?or could this be to do with the group a carb?
Thanks for help...Im learning :D

5teve L
26-08-2010, 14:47
Sounds like a possible air leak to me. I had this on one of my old carbs, I smeared a little (& I mean a little) instant gasket between the carb gakets & inlet. don't put any on the bottom of the carb itself or that side of the gasket.
Grp A (or tuners attempts at a grp A) are :crap: anyway but usually just rich all the way through the revs, well right up till you need it if you're running over 21 psi & then they run lean :wasntme:

KeefaGT
26-08-2010, 14:51