PDA

View Full Version : Newbie with a Lm1 , AFR results

djinuk
20-08-2010, 19:16
ok folks, just trying to learn a little here, i have a lm1, set it up and set about going for a drive 30 mins ago.

I was told by the previous owner the fueling was setup for around 14psi. ive set the actuator to just under 1 bar of boost based on carb bottom.

My results are below,

Idle sat between 14.2 - 13.8 although occasionaly went into low 13s however my r5 hasnt got the smoothest idle.

Cruising off boost it was reading around the 14.7 mark.

W.O.T was reading around 12.7 , and occasionaly between gears jumping into low 13's for a split second but then settling back to around 12.7.

Now please bear in mind im new to this, and just trying to learn as i do with everything else (welding/painting etc)

Ive looked at the article on afr's and believe my results above appear to be ok, however is there room for improvement.

Brigsy
20-08-2010, 19:39
I personally would richen it up a little at wot to 12.1, keep it nice & reliable.

djinuk
20-08-2010, 19:40
to be fair id like to up the boost a bit aswell at the same time, just searching these boards now to see how best to go about doing that.. , cheers for the advice tho dude, i thought it may be a little lean

Brigsy
20-08-2010, 19:41
If your upping the boost its worth investing in a mechanics stethoscope to listen for det aswell :)

djinuk
20-08-2010, 19:47
aight dude,

Would 18psi, with a t2/t25 which is what i think mine is be a reasonable target..

going to whip the carb off tomorrow and measure up the jets i think

djinuk
20-08-2010, 21:04
can i also ask if this will be ideal..

Its a micro drill bit pack with a hand driven drill .. or would i be better with electirc ?

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/MICRO-ARCHIMEDES-CRAFT-DRILL-20-TINY-BITS-UK-STOCK-/360281121178?pt=UK_Crafts_JewelleryMaking_GL

Brigsy
20-08-2010, 21:12
That will do the job. I hand drill most of my jets, i use a pikey old chuck that i hacksawed off an old hand drill.