PDA

View Full Version : Did the R5 live up to the dream!?

kayzee
05-03-2010, 08:54
Hi guys.

Once again I've found myself dreaming about your lovely machines... I joined up here as I was just about to buy a 190bhp Raider, however the owner changed his mind at the last moment as he said he couldn't bare to part with it, thus crushing my dream! Thing is I had already sold my Clio 182, so I bought something local just to tide me over... happened to be a Punto GT3.

Just had it's first MOT and it didn't do very well but I'm going to continue with it for the time being whilst I search for a new car before it's next MOT. Obviously an R5 is my first choice :)

So back to the topic... did your first one live up to the dream? I've wanted one for nearly ten years now, there's just something about them I can't get out my head lol. Do most people run them as their main car? Or as a second one that's usually off the road being fixed... unfortunately I'm not very technically minded so I can see one costing me a fortune which I wouldn't mind as I have the passion for them :p

Shall I get it out of my head that I want a Raider? I think it's just because I let the other one slip through my fingers that I'm extra annoyed and really want one now. Wouldn't mind one in grey though either...

Any extra advice for looking for my first one is much appreciated, cheers!

Penfold aka The Dealer
05-03-2010, 09:03
Raiders are nothing overly special, but if its that you want then go for a raider.

I love my 5's to piece's, nothing compares to them... They can be used as a daily driver, its all about the care and attention the car gets, get a few mechanical things sorted and there is no reason why they cant be used daily.

The club has loads of members who are willing to lend a hand for a few beer token's, or a few members are willing to work on your car for a few £'s.

With the boards you should able to find a well looked after car & a member who you can trust to look after your car...