PDA

View Full Version : New engine fitted.....running problems, as expected!....please advise

Nick13
23-09-2009, 00:12
Hi all,
I'm new to GTT's and had a proper bad start..............Lets just say things were so bad I had to buy a replacement engine.
Anyhow, me and my mate have fitted a new lump with carb, clutch & turbo.
It was a bit of an experience, but quite a laugh if theres two of you moaning and swearing at it!
There were the expected leaks, which are now cured and the engine starts first try, which is a shock after the trouble I had trying to start the previous one...........However, as always, theres another problem reared its head.....the engine revs at idle are up and down and won't stabilise........."Air leak" is what we're thinking........but where the hell to start looking????????
All the pipework is connected up properly and there are no visible problems........I'm amazed it actually runs!!!!!, but have no knowledge of these cars whatsoever, neither does my mate, so we're going blind with it.
Anybody experienced this before?
Suggestions as to where to start looking would be brilliant.

Thanks

Nick

JRP
23-09-2009, 00:24
carb base, make sure its sealed.

make sure all jets are clean and clear in the carb.

Might have a wicked cam lol:crap:

mightymanx
23-09-2009, 00:27
i would also check top dead sensor lead is connected proply with no breaks as this can cause tick over/ running problems also check exhaust bolts turbo tightness carb etc

James5
23-09-2009, 08:56
Check the breather system to make sure the 2 x restrictors are in place that is if you run the OE breather system, I would also check the one way valves aswell, and do as JRP has already mentioned.

Matt Cole
23-09-2009, 09:45
Check the breather system to make sure the 2 x restrictors are in place that is if you run the OE breather system, I would also check the one way valves aswell, and do as JRP has already mentioned.

:agree:

Nick13
23-09-2009, 13:18